Chat with us, powered by LiveChat


Leadership Florida is proud of all the work Floridians are doing to strengthen our Sunshine State and excited to have four awards that provide opportunities for us to celebrate the hard work of individuals and organizations.

Awards FAQs

Is a previous recipient of one of the four Leadership Florida awards eligible to be nominated again?

No, one member can only win one award.  Due to the limited number of awards offered and the size of Leadership Florida’s membership, we would like to make sure each member who is nominated has an opportunity to win one of the awards.

Who is eligible to win each award?

Only members are eligible to be nominated for the Distinguished Member Award and the “but for” Leadership Florida Award.

Both members and non-members can be nominated for the LeRoy Collins Lifetime Achievement Award.

A business or nonprofit organization can be nominated for the Florida Impact Award.

How long can my submission be?

Each short answer box has a strict limit of 3000 characters.  Anything submitted beyond the 3000-character limit will not be considered.

The "but for" Leadership Florida Award

The "but for" Leadership Florida Award was created in 2017 in recognition of Wendy Walker's 28 years of devotion to creating "but for" Leadership Florida experiences for our members.  Its purpose is to recognize a Leadership Florida member who has used specific knowledge gained and/or relationships built through their Leadership Florida experiences to improve the lives of fellow Floridians.  In addition to the honor itself, Leadership Florida will make a donation of $2,500 to the recipient's organization of choice, subject to the approval of the Board of Directors.

The nomination form for the "but for" Leadership Florida Award can be found HERE.

Distinguished Member Award

The purpose of the Leadership Florida Distinguished Member Award is to recognize a Leadership Florida member whose continued leadership activities, outside of their professional responsibilities, have exemplified the highest standards of Leadership Florida and whose activities achieved results or set an example of statewide influence.

The nomination form for the Distinguished Member Award can be found HERE.

LeRoy Collins Lifetime Achievement Award

In recognition of the impeccable standards Governor LeRoy Collins set for leadership in our state, in 1991 the Lifetime Achievement Award was renamed in his honor.  The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual who, like Governor Collins, has gone above and beyond by using their leadership abilities over a lifetime to improve the quality of life for Florida's citizens and its future generations.  The Recipient of this award does not have to be a member of Leadership Florida.*

*Non-members are awarded Honorary Member Status

The nomination form for the LeRoy Collins Lifetime Achievement Award can be found HERE.

Florida Impact Award

The Florida Impact Award recognizes a business or nonprofit organization that has created a specific project or body of work whose impact is currently transforming the future of its Region or beyond and has the potential to transform Florida as a whole.

The nomination form for the Florida Impact Award can be found HERE.

The "but for" Leadership 
Florida Award

Previous Recipients
2017 - Alex Sink
2018 - Mike Freed
2019 - Chris Hand & Lori Kifer Johnson

Distinguished Member

Previous Recipients

1990 - Jack Levine 
1991 - Glenda Hood 
1992 - Ron Saunders 
1993 - Dorothy Weaver 
1994 - Kathy Adams 
1995 - Lester Abberger 
1996 - Frank Ioppolo, Sr. 
1997 - Clarence Anthony 
1998 - Barbara Ann Blue 
1999 - Pat Pepper 
2000 - Bob Richardson 
2001 - John Delaney 
2002 - Pam Iorio 
2003 - Pam Davis 
2004 - Larry Lee 
2005 - John Ruffin 
2006 - Fred Leonhardt 
2007 - John Sinnott 
2008 - Ron Sachs
2009 - Jeff Bartel
2010 - Deanne Roberts
2010 - Steve Leifman
2011 - Steve Freedman
2012 - Randy Berridge
2013 - Mike Pender
2014 - Bob Buesing
2015 - Sean Pittman
2016 - Carolyn Johnson & Isabel Norton
2017 - Yvette Aleman
2018 - Mayor Don Slesnick II
2019 - Darnell Smith

LeRoy Collins Lifetime

Previous Recipients

1990 - Phil Lewis 
1991 - Gov. LeRoy Collins* 
1992 - Alvah Chapman 
1993 - James E. Davis* 
1994 - Chesterfield Smith 
1995 - Hon. Carrie Meek 
1996 - Dr. Stephen O'Connell 
1997 - Jack Eckerd 
1998 - Gov. Reubin Askew 
1999 - John Edward Smith* 
2000 - Gene Patterson 
2001 - Judge Joseph Hatchett 
2002 - Gov. Lawton Chiles* 
2003 - Dr. John DeGrove 
2004 - Al Burt 
2005 - Fred Schultz 
2006 - Nathaniel Reed 
2007 - Sen. Bob Graham 
2008 - Henri Landwirth
2009 - Charles & Saundra Gray
2010 - Dr. Michael Gannon
2011 - Talbot "Sandy" D'Alemberte
2012 - Ken Plante
2013 - H. Lee Moffitt
2014 - Lucy Morgan
2015 - Betty Castor
2016 - Bob Rhodes
2017 - Gov. Bob Martinez
2018 - The Honorable Justice Rosemary Barkett
2019 - Clyde Butcher

* indicates posthumously

Statewide Community

Previous Recipients

1996 - Florida Humanities Council 
1997 - Holland & Knight 
1998 - Florida League of Cities 
1999 - Not awarded 
2000 - Not awarded 
2001 - Constitutional Revision Committee
2002 - NCCJ 
2003 - JM Family Enterprises 
2004 - Not awarded 
2005 - Associated Marine Institutes 
2006 - Bank of America 
2007 - Not Awarded 
2008 - AutoNation
2009 - Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Florida
2010 - Children's Home Society of Florida
2011 - Volunteer Florida 
2012 - Publix Super Markets Inc.
2013 - Florida Sheriffs Youth Ranch

Florida Impact Award

Previous Recipients

2014 - Redlands Christian Migrant Association
2015 - The Village Square
2016 - The FLITE Center
2017 - Central Florida Partnership
2018 - JASMYN
2019 - Anna Maria Oyster Bar & Restaurant